The Church of the Immaculate Conception is a Roman Catholic church in Pulau Tikus, Penang. The church was founded by the Portuguese Eurasians who emigrated to Penang to escape prosecution in Phuket. The present building of the church was constructed in 1899 and was last renovated in the 1970s. A small museum within the church holds memorabilia and antiques.
The Church of the Immaculate Conception is a parish church in Pulau Tikus, Penang. Founded in 1811, it is the second oldest church in the diocese after the Church of Assumption. The Church of Immaculate Conception was founded by Fr. John Baptist Pasqual from Phuket, Thailand.
The original church building was replaced by a brick church in 1835. In 1899, one of the ceilings collapse leading to a rebuilt of the church in that particular year itself. The church also went thru a renovation in the late 1960s. Presently church also administers the Chapel of St. Joseph at Mount Erskine.
Inside the church holds one of the most captivating altar which has a stone-clad interior or rock-like walls. The chairs for the congregation to sit are also ancient.
History of priest Jacques Honore Chastan who was the fourth priest of the Church of the Immaculate Conception from 1830 to 1833 was the only parish priest in Malaysia to be canonized. He was arrested and martyred in 1839 by the Koreans. He was canonized by Pope John Paul in 1984. A monument was erected on the church ground to honour him.